DRDO Sscientists get top honours

By Aeromag Asia 09-Dec-2016

Three eminent scientists of DRDO from Bangalore, Ms. J Manjula, Director General (Electronics & Communication Systems), Dr. Sanjay Burman, Outstanding Scientist & Director, Centre for Artificial Intelligence (CAIR) and Sh MVKV Prasad, Outstanding Scientist & Director, Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) have been elevated to the  grade of Distinguished Scientists.

 Eight other scientists of DRDO viz, Dr. SC Sati, Director General, NS &M), Vishakhapatna, Sh MH Rahaman, CC R&D (HR), Dr. (Mrs) Shashi Bala Singh , Director General, (LS) New Delhi, ,Sh MSR Prasad, Director DRDL, Dr. Chandran BSS, DRDL, Hyderabad, Dr. SK Mishra, BrahMos, New Delhi, Dr. Manjit Singh, Director, TBRL, Chandigarh,  and Dr. Rajan KV, Director, ARDE, Pune have also been elevated to the grade of Distinguished Scientists.

Ms. J  Manjula, Director General (Electronics & Communication Systems) is an alumna of Osmania University and a practicing Electronics & Communications engineer.   She joined DRDO in  Defence Electronics Research Laboratory,(DLRL) in 1987 where she has served for more than 26 years in the area of Integrated Electronic Warfare. She was  the Director of Defence Avionics Research Establishment (DARE) for a year before she took over as DG (ECS). She has vast experience in EW systems design & deployment in wide area network and her specialization includes configuration of Communication & Radar ESM and ECM systems.

  She has worked closely with the Indian industry, academia and firms abroad. She is a recipient of  DRDO award for Performance Excellence and Scientist of the Year 2011.

Sh. Sanjay Burman, Director, Centre for Artificial Intelligence & Robotics (CAIR) graduated from University College of Engineering, Burla M.Tech degree from IIT Kanpur.  He joined  DRDO in 1986 and served in Electronics & Radar Development Establishment till 2000, and thereafter in CAIR. 

Shri Sanjay Burman, took over as Director, Centre  for  Artificial  Intelligence  and  Robotics (CAIR)  with   effect  from  1st Nov 2012.  

For his contributions Shri Sanjay Burman was awarded the  Sir C V Raman Young Scientist Award for the year 1999, the Agni Award in 2005 and Performance Excellence Awards in 2006 and 2007, the Lab Scientist of the Year award in 2005 and Scientist of the Year Award in 2010

Shri MVKV Prasad, Outstanding Scientist , Director  of Aeronautical Development Establishment(ADE),  did his B. Tech in Electronics and Communication Engineering from JNTU, Anantapur. Subsequently he obtained his M. Tech in Instrumentation and Control System from Shri Venkateswara University, Tirupati. He joined DRDL, Hyderabad in 1984 as Scientist ‘B’. He served in DRDL at various capacities for a period of 28 years i.e. from 1984 to 2012. MVKV Prasad earlier had served  as Director, ITR Chandipur

In recognition of his significant contributions and achievements while serving with DRDO, he had been deputed as Joint Development Team Leader for foreign assignment to Israel for three years.